Monica Naselow holding violin
2022 UK, 2022, 2018 India, 2018, 2017, 2015, 2015 India, 2015 Chamber – Bothwell, TAS, 2013
“The AWO gives Australia’s ex-pat musicians the chance to show other Australians just how proud they can be of the standard of musical training and depth of musical commitment that exists in our homeland. None of us would be where we are now without it, and there is no better way to prove this than to be able to perform together in a project such as the AWO.”

Monica Naselow


Principal 2nd Violin – Orchestra Victoria; The Australian Ballet; Former Concertmaster and Education/Outreach Officer – Darwin Symphony Orchestra; Violin – Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra; 2nd Violin – Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam

Australian Hometown(s): Sydney & Melbourne
Education: Sydney Conservatorium of Music; Zurich Opera Orchestral Academy

Australian Violinist Monica Naselow is Principal 2nd Violin of Orchestra Victoria and an Instrumental Specialist teacher at the Victorian College of Arts Secondary School (VCASS). She has been a member of the Australian World Orchestra since 2013 and serves as a volunteer member of the Artistic and Education Committee on the Board of Melbourne Youth Orchestras. Monica has also previously held positions in the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra and Darwin Symphony Orchestra.

Monica began violin lessons at the age of four with Suzuki Method in Sydney, completing her Bachelor of Music degree at Sydney Conservatorium of Music as a student of Professor Goetz Richter. She participated in Sydney Youth Orchestra, Australian Youth Orchestra and Sydney Sinfonia with Richard Gill, and in 2000 was awarded a Queen’s Trust of Australia Scholarship to pursue orchestral training in Switzerland at Zurich Opera House Orchestral Academy.

In 2002, Monica joined the 2nd violins of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, performing in festivals and concert halls throughout Europe, Asia and the USA under conductors such as Mariss Jansons, Bernard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Riccardo Chailly. Monica was Principal 2nd Violin of the Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra, and a mentor for the Concertgebouw Academy program.  

Returning to Australia in 2012, Monica held positions with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra and was Concertmaster and Education/Outreach officer with Darwin Symphony Orchestra before moving to Melbourne in 2019.  

Last updated 2023