2021, 2019 AWO SIX, 2019, 2017 Chamber 8, 2017, 2015
“There is something nostalgic and yet exciting about the social side of the event. Then, of course, when we play together there is a typically open and ‘can do’ Australian attitude about the music making that one doesn’t always find in other orchestras. That is for me the most exciting thing”

Tahlia Petrosian


Gewandhaus Orchestra, Leipzig

Australian Hometown: Sydney
Education: Hochschule für Musik, Berlin, Universität der Künste, Berlin, Humboldt Universität Berlin, Australian Institute of Music

As a soloist and chamber musician, Tahlia Petrosian has performed in Wigmore Hall, the Sydney Opera House, the Semperoper Dresden, the Berliner Philharmonie, the Gewandhaus Leipzig, at Tanglewood Music Center USA, and directly on 5th Avenue in New York.

Before completing her studies with Tabea Zimmermann and Wilfried Strehle in Berlin and attaining the ‘Konzertexamen’ degree, Germany’s highest qualification, Tahlia performed in masterclasses with Yuri Bashmet, Thomas Riebl, Paul Neubauer, Pinchas Zukerman and Nobuko Imai.

Tahlia has been awarded prizes including an Artist Development Award from the Australia Council and the Australian Music Foundation Prize in London. She also received awards from the Paul Hindemith Gesellschaft in Berlin and the Dame Joan Sutherland Fund in New York.

Having performed as Principal Viola in orchestras including the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra, the Royal Flemish Philharmonic and the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Tahlia joined the Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig in 2012.

Before commencing formal music study in Berlin, Tahlia completed degrees in Arts and Law at the University of New South Wales, completing both degrees two years early. She also studied German Law and International Law at Humboldt University Berlin and her work has been published in the Australian Journal of International Law.

In 2016, Tahlia created the series ‘Klassik Underground’, working with artists including Anne-Sophie Mutter, Joshua Bell and Leif Ove Andsnes to present classical music in a 21st century format.

Last updated 2020