2018 India, 2018, 2016 Singapore, 2016, 2015 India, 2015, 2013, 2011
“As a budding musician, growing up in Australia, I was extremely grateful for those experiences and the support I received. This project is infused with a spirit of appreciation for high-level musicians and music making, and I know the result will be inspiring. This is something I do not want to miss.”

Meg Sterling


Principal Flute – Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra

Australian Hometown: Shepparton
Education: University of Melbourne, Canberra School of Music


Since taking up the position of Principal Flute of the HK Phil in 2002, Megan Sterling has enjoyed working with some of the world’s top conductors and soloists. She has appeared several times as soloist with the HK Phil, as well as in recitals, radio broadcasts, Canto-pop recordings and chamber ensembles in Hong Kong and the region.

As a student in Australia, Megan was awarded a number of prestigious prizes and awards: the Symphony Young Australia Award; First Prize and Audience Prize at the 1999 National Flute Competition; the inaugural Canberra School of Music/Ansett Concerto Prize; the University of Melbourne Mozart Competition 1st prize; a Premier’s Award for Distinction in Music; four-time winner of the Leslie Barklamb Flute Scholarship. Megan also received the prestigious Queen’s Trust Award, which facilitated a study period in London with Michael Cox and Paul Edmund-Davies.

In 2003 Megan was awarded 1st Prize in the Hungarofest International Flute Competition in Budapest. At the same competition she was awarded a special prize for Best Performance of the Petrovics Flute Concerto, broadcast live with the Hungarian National Radio Symphony on Hungarian National Radio. This led to recitals in the Budapest Spring Festival, Boston and Shanghai.

Megan has appeared live on national television and radio in Australia, Hungary, Hong Kong, and on WGBH, Boston. She performed at Parliament House for Australian Prime Minister, John Howard.

In addition to solo performances, Megan has appeared as Guest Principal Flute with all the leading orchestras in Australia and New Zealand. She is a founding member of the Australian World Orchestra – a project which brings Australian musicians from elite orchestras around the world to play together under conductors such as Zubin Mehta, Sir Simon Rattle and Riccardo Muti.

In addition to her full-time role with the HK Phil, Megan enjoys teaching at The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and the HK Chinese University.

Last updated 2020