A landmark recording of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring and Mahler’s Symphony No.1

Internationally acclaimed conductor Zubin Mehta joins the AWO for this recording, a double-disc set of two seminal works. Under Mehta’s baton, the AWO produces a richly coloured reading of The Rite of Spring, heard here in a revelatory pairing with Mahler’s first symphony in its original five-movement version (including the rarely played Blumine “Flowers” movement). Recorded live in concert, the result is thrilling and unmissable.

“This double CD is compelling listening, with stunning playing by the AWO and superb direction by Maestro Mehta” – Barry Walmsely

I don’t think I’ve ever heard the treacherous opening bassoon passage so beautifully shaped”Greg Keane, Limelight Magazine

Track Listing:

CD 1:

IGOR STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring
Part 1: The Adoration of the Earth
1. Introduction
2. Dance of the Young Girls
3. Ritual of Abduction
4. Spring Rounds
5. Games of the Rival Tribes
6. Procession of the Sage
7. Adoration of the Earth
8. Dance of the Earth

Part 2: The Sacrifice
9. Introduction
10. Mystic Circles of the Young Girls
11. Glorification of the Chosen Virgin
12. Evocation of the Ancestors
13. Ritual of the Ancestors
14. Sacrificial Dance – The Chosen Virgin

CD 2:

1. I. Slow, dragging. ‘Like a sound of Nature’
2. Blumine
3. II. Forcefully, yet not too fast – Trio
4. III. Solemn and measured, without dragging
5. IV. Stormily